DP weekly writing challenge “Honey versus Vinegar” kindness: kindness of strangers

kindness of strangers

the misstep

momentum

going forward

smack

land on knees

rip and roll

to save face

not far enough

to reach green strip

between street

and sidewalk

pain and smell

of blood

suddenly someone

beside me to steal

my stuff

no, to ask

are you alright

and another and another

shake head slowly

head aching no 911

I mutter “I’m a faller.”

no one asks or judges me

addict, drunk,

homeless or insane

some one has a water bottle

another a cloth

triage on Hemlock Street

propped up against

a garden wall

paranoiac waves

storm over me as

someone says

you can’t walk home

like that

one of us will

give you a drive

No, I scream

taxi discussed

smart phone figures out

where I will be

someone shoves

money into my

shaking hand

taxi money

 

to repay the night

of kindness

I don’t look away

from castaways

staggering or

wandering

too high

to notice direction

I pick up the fallen

I give all of them

my arm

lead them

to where they

want to go

and I never judge

the address

 

One thought on “DP weekly writing challenge “Honey versus Vinegar” kindness: kindness of strangers

I like first person narratives.