can I really be the poet

{originally written in November 1981; only editing was to fix up the spelling so you could understand what I was trying to say} 

 

can I really be the poet

thin, hollow-eyed

blown in waif coat

from heart to pocket

 

can I find refuge

in ink, dark garrets

under eaves of pretension and fear

 

can I reach for a lover

at midnight bell’s tolling

more substantial than

vapour breaths & wine

 

can I put pain in my knapsack

and carry it’s ashes

from sea to mountain and sky

 

am I a Cohen,

a Dylan

a woman

or just the

prophet of my doom & despair

 

can you give me

tomorrow

the answers to questions

that beat on my window at dawn

I like first person narratives.

