the adventurer

When you sailed the broad sea,

You sent back gold to me.

When you ventured underground,

You sent me the gems you’d found.

When you journeyed into the jungle deep,

You sent me exotic birds to keep.

When you hiked up the mountain to the sky,

You sent me the clouds passing by.

Each gift came with a love note attached,

You thought you’d found the perfect match.

You never asked what I wanted sent to me,

It was you, home from jungle and sea.

So, when you enter those jungles deep,

Remember I could have been yours to keep.

So, when you sail upon your ocean wide,

You will always do so without me by your side.

 

I like first person narratives.

