lost

I have no

inner GPS

no compass

no sense

of direction

I mumble

“moss grows on the north

no the south, no the . . .”

“sunrise is east, sunset is west”

“watch out for poison ivy . . .

(if looks can be remembered)”

“geese fly north in spring

south in fall”

“mark your trail

so you can find

your way back”

didn’t follow

directions on

direction

so here I stand

under dripping

redwood

wondering how

I got to the west coast forest

when I entered the woods

with the Atlantic at my back

I like first person narratives.

