warbler spring

I mourned the loss
of trees to the
regentrification
of the park
80 years of
warbler woods
gone
replaced by
terraces of
dying shrubs
~ * ~ ~ * ~
mature maples and oaks
shaded creek
sheltered birds
sacrificed to the
god of civilized
grass and
withered saplings
captured and
tethered to the ground
~ * ~ ~ * ~
my heart hurt
to see nature tamped down
by artificial paths
created by gravel
and forced into
curves and straights
too many tears
to wander there
~ * ~ ~ * ~
I shook my head
my spirit
my soul
no warbler spring
in the regentrified park
no spring at all
~ * ~ ~ * ~
yesterday
trees with branches
overspreading
our yard
budded out
with melodic leaves
in colours of
black-throated green
redstart
common yellow throat
black and white
~ * ~ ~ * ~
today
new leaves appeared
in colours of
black throated blue
yellow rumped
rose breasted grossbeak
redwing black bird
~ * ~ ~ * ~
the garden
resonated
with
magnolia
parula
blackburnian
vireo
catbird
and wren
~ * ~ ~ * ~
I didn’t have to go in
in search of warbler spring
this year
warbler spring came to me

@ shape shifter (27wkchallenger) 2014

** not all the birds I mention are warblers, but they are all welcome,many of them are first time visitors.

 

 

 

I like first person narratives.

