NaPoWriMO 7: Pain

I should make note that NaPoWriMo provides daily prompts, instructions, suggestions. I have chosen to follow the spirit, the soul, the heart of writing a poem a day. The world around me and inside me are my prompts. Some poetry springs to the screen, writing itself through my fingers. Other poems resist becoming corporal and hide in the farthest recess of my mind. At times, I edit and re-edit; I have a very picky self-editor if I let her loose. But there are poems that appear as raw as they were written. I have no “writing process,” poetry just is.

{warning – this “ain’t that pretty at all:” Warren Zevon} 

 

pain

rips through

fabric

of

being

strips

flesh

to bone

twists

limbs

fractures

skull

shatters

eyes

crushes

mind

what remains

is mouth

and tongue

"poetry in motion"

“poetry in motion”

 

 

I like first person narratives.

